Michaël Khayat

Partner

Back
Michaël Khayat
Contact

Contact

Phone

Phone : + 33 (0) 1 85 09 91 44
Cell : + 33 (0) 6 09 33 37 01

Address

Arkwood SCP
40 rue François 1er
75008 Paris FRANCE

Michaël advises entrepreneurs and families, French and foreigners, in national and international contexts. 

He practices in the following areas:

  • Estate planning, particularly in the context of transfer of tax residency and expatriation for families: transfer of family business assets, multi-jurisdictional estate strategies, set up of foreign inheritance vehicles (trusts, family foundations…) and of local tax and legal regulations;
  • Processing of complex international successions: securing tax aspects (tax treaties, elimination of double taxation…) and coordination work on the civil issues (governing law, settlement of practical difficulties raised by estate planning);
  • Real estate investment, particularly for non-residents: option for the most appropriate structure depending on the asset selected and on the nature of the project; tailored assistance for the implementation, the day-to-day management of the investment, and the transfer of assets. 

Michaël has developed a unique expertise for situations involving UK aspects.

He assists his clients in the preparation of tax returns and in their relationships with the French tax administration (in particular during tax audits and tax litigations).

Michaël is ranked as a leading individual in Private Clients by Legal 500. He is also individually ranked by Chambers & Partners in the HNW guide where he is referred to as a “highly skilled international tax lawyer who is very agreeable to work with and focused on the best outcome for his clients”. One of his clients says “Michael is my go-to lawyer for France, whether it is for tax or succession-related queries”, adding: “He always seems to have all the answers and it is great to work with a lawyer who is technically excellent at the job, with clients and fellow professionals.” Michaël is also recognized as ”an expert on real estate investment issues.”

He is a regular speaker in professional conferences in France and abroad, and in several first rank universities in Paris.

Michaël was admitted to the Paris Bar in 2007.

He is a founding partner of Arkwood SCP. He previously worked in the Wealth Management and Employee Benefit teams of Baker & McKenzie in Paris.

Michaël graduated from the D.E.S.S. de Fiscalité de l’Entreprise of Paris Dauphine University and obtained the French CPA degree (DESCF).

Arkwood is ranked Band 1 in the Chambers & Partners HNW Guide and Key player in the Wealth Management industry by Décideurs magazine

Michaël Khayat

Avocat associé

Retour
Michaël Khayat
Contact

Contact

Téléphone

Tél : + 33 (0) 1 85 09 91 44
Mob : + 33 (0) 6 09 33 37 01

Addresse

Arkwood SCP
40 rue François 1er
75008 Paris FRANCE

Michaël conseille et assiste les entrepreneurs et les familles, français et étrangers, dans un contexte national et international. 

Sa pratique couvre notamment les domaines suivants :

  • Planification successorale, en particulier dans un contexte de transfert de résidence et de mobilité internationale des familles : Pactes Dutreil, stratégies successorales multi-juridictionnelles, intégration des véhicules successoraux étrangers (trusts, fondations de famille…) et des contraintes juridiques et fiscales locales ;
  • Traitement des successions internationales complexes : sécurisation des aspects fiscaux (conventions fiscales, élimination des doubles impositions…) et coordination pour le traitement des aspects civils (loi applicable, résolution des difficultés pratiques de règlement des successions…) ;
  • Investissement immobilier, notamment pour les non-résidents : détermination de la structuration la plus adaptée selon le type d’actif et la nature du projet, accompagnement dans la mise en œuvre et la gestion quotidienne de l’investissement, ainsi que dans la stratégie de cession.

Michaël a développé une expertise particulière sur les situations impliquant le Royaume-Uni

Il accompagne également ses clients pour l’établissement de leurs déclarations fiscales et leurs relations avec l’administration fiscale (contrôle et contentieux notamment).

Michaël est classé individuellement par Legal 500 en fiscalité privée et patrimoniale, ainsi que par Chambers & Partners dans la catégorie « High Net Worth ». Il est reconnu comme un « avocat fiscaliste international hautement qualifié, avec lequel il est très agréable de travailler et qui cherche à obtenir le meilleur résultat pour ses clients », un de ses clients dit de lui qu’il est « mon avocat de référence en France pour les questions de fiscalité ou de succession ». Michaël est aussi considéré comme « expert sur les questions d’investissement immobilier. ».

Michaël intervient régulièrement dans des conférences en France et à l’étranger, ainsi qu’à l’université, à Paris Dauphine et Paris 2 notamment.

Michaël est inscrit au Barreau de Paris depuis 2007. 

Il est associé fondateur du cabinet ARKWOOD SCP, il exerçait précédemment au sein des groupes Wealth Management et Employee Benefit du cabinet Baker & McKenzie à Paris.

Michaël est diplômé du DESS de Fiscalité de l’Entreprise de l’Université Paris Dauphine et est titulaire du Diplôme d’Etudes Supérieures Comptables et Financières (DESCF).

Arkwood est classé en Band 1 dans le guide HNW par Chambers & Partners et Incontournable en fiscalité patrimoniale par le magazine Décideurs